The stages of mourning and grief are universal, and are experienced by people from all walks of life. Mourning occurs in response to an individual’s own terminal illness, the loss of a close relationship or to the death of a loved one.

Everybody grieves differently and there are different things that may affect the way people grieve. Knowing these may help to understand yours and other people’s reactions to the loss. If someone’s reaction is different to yours it does not necessarily mean they care less.

The five stages of grief are:
  1. Denial and isolation from the reality of the loss
    – It is a temporary response
  2. Anger
    – Feelings of anger that may be directed at close family members/friends
  3. Bargaining
    – Trying to regain control
  4. Depression
  5. Acceptance
    – This phase is marked by calm

Coping with loss is a person and singular experience. Talking to others can help you go through it more easily, or understand all the emotions that you’re going through.

Others can be there for you and help comfort you through the process.

The best thing you can do is allow yourself time to feel the grief as it comes over you.

For further information, simply click on the following links:

Disclaimer: Please be aware that the information in this section is not intended as a substitute for clinical diagnosis or to replace the advice of a medical professional. If concerned, please contact your family doctor or phone the Samaritans on 116 123, or visit

Registered Charity Number 20204828 / CHY 22724

%d bloggers like this: